……………………………………………….Expertise in .NET Technologies

  • Categories

  • Advertisements

SDLC Model – Overview of Phases

Posted by Ravi Varma Thumati on March 24, 2009

1. Phase I – Project Initiation:


·          Request for service – project justification

§          Maintenance/enhancements/upgrade projects (minor in nature): Departments/agencies request directly to DoT representative using e-mail or memorandum.

§          New projects or larger system enhancements: Departments/agencies request to the Information Technology Committee (ITC) for IT staff resources and/or funding.

§          Feasibility Study: request sent to ITC for approval.

·          Feasibility study and risk analysis

·          Define Project Charter and identify project team and stakeholders

·          Define scope and business objectives to achieve

·          Assign IT personnel

·          Develop project plan

·          Assign project tracking number through DoT Request Tracking system


2. Phase II – Analysis and Requirements Definition

·          Identify existing business processes and system flow

·          Identify desired business processes and functional specifications

·          Interview users (dept/agencies involved in project)

·          Document requirements

·          Identify interfaces with other systems (existing and new), internal and external to the organization

·          Identify data conversion requirements

·          Develop business rules and process flows

·          Identify technical architecture

·          Finalize project management plan

·          Assign resources and schedule high-level tasks

·          Obtain project sponsor(s) sign-off


3. Phase III – Request for Proposal (RFP) optional


·          Develop RFP document

·          Identify potential vendors & deliver to Purchasing for processing

·          Develop evaluation checklist

·          Create vendor list and distribute responses to selection team for review

·          Rank vendor responses; select top responders

·          Schedule vendor demo’s

·          Schedule site visits

·          Contract negotiations

·          Issue notice of intent to award

·          Review and finalize vendor’s project plan and statement of work

·          Develop final system cost including future maintenance agreement cost

·          Final vendor selection with recommendation to ITC

·          Contract signed by vendor and authorized city personnel

·          Prepare purchase order (Service Contract)


4. Phase IV – Design


·          Design logical business model

·          Design application components

·          Design data dictionary

·          Design security

·          Design reports

·          Design interfaces with external systems

·          Design physical database/table structure

·          Design technical architecture

·          Obtain quotes and order hardware and software

·          Develop user prototype and business case scenarios

·          Design review/walk-through

·          Obtain user sign-off


5. Phase V – Development


·          Create development and test environments

·          Create development databases

·          Develop graphical design and report layouts

·          Define modules for coding and assign resources

·          Create database roles and user security levels

·          Create stored procedures and define database triggers

·          Developer coding & documentation

·          Quality Assurance of code

·          Unit testing


6. Phase VI – Testing


·          Develop system test plans

·          Train users involved in system testing

·          System and user testing

·          Obtain user sign-off

·          Purchase and install production technical hardware/software

·          Set up production security access

·          Obtain user sign-off


7. Phase VII – Deployment


·          Create implementation plan

·          Schedule IT Implementation Planning Session (all divisions of DoT)

·          Complete documentation (system/technical) and training manuals

·          Schedule and conduct end user training

·          Move application components to production environment

·          Deploy/move data to production environment (data conversion, import, or load data)

·          User verification of data

·          Review security

·          Turnover operational processing to DoT Operations Center/user

·          Final testing and verification of production environment

·          Obtain user sign-off

·          Go live with system


8. Phase VIII – Post Implementation Evaluation and Support


·          Conduct post implementation review

·          Evaluate overall project delivery with DoT management

·          Utilize DoT change management procedures for enhancements and incidents

·          Monitor, support, and enhance system


Documents created in SDLC:


The following are documents which are created in entire SDLC…


1. User Requirement Specification

2. System Requirement Specification

3. System Design Document

4. Test Plans

5. Test Cases

6. Unified Implementation Plan        



One Response to “SDLC Model – Overview of Phases”

  1. Now you could have your new web page and you’re keen to begin making some gross sales! But, how will you make sales when you would not have excessive volumes of visitors to your web site?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: